Profile: Cure Coffeehouse and Brasserie

curecoffeecure2Image-1 (3)Last week, I used one of my school-free mornings to drive down to Norfolk. I had many goals to accomplish in the city, but my ulterior motive was to visit Cure Coffeehouse, an adorable coffee shop in the heart of Norfolk, walking distance to the MacArthur Center and the NorVa, my favorite concert venue. I’ve been following this shop on Instagram for a few months, in love with their unique vibe and the undeniable care and artistry that goes into everything they make. I had only been there once before, stopping to grab an iced latte before going to 96x Fest last June, and it was so good, I knew I’d have to come back. I brought my laptop so I could work on my previous blog post and some accounting homework. After much deliberation and asking the barista way-too-many questions, I ordered a mocha, pictured above, and a basil lemon poppy seed muffin. The mocha had beautiful latte art that I couldn’t help taking numerous pictures of. I hung out there for a while, drinking my coffee, typing away on my computer, and loving the atmosphere. On my way out, I got an iced dirty chai latte, my go-to on beautiful days like that, and sipped on it as I walked through the beautiful streets of downtown Norfolk.

My favorite thing I ordered was the iced dirty chai; I’ve found that a good chai is a sign of a great coffee shop! Everything I got was lovely, and the trendy-yet-cozy atmosphere put the experience over the top. This is probably, in my very subjective opinion, my favorite out of all of the coffee shops I’ve visited over the years. Honestly, as I stepped inside for the first time, I took a look around and realized that this place is very similar to the picture I’ve had in my head of the coffee shop I’d like to open someday.

mecoffee

Update: This is now the place I have to go to every time I go to Norfolk. It is the place I recommend anytime someone asks me for a good coffee shop. I’ve gone with friends, family, and friends of family. Current favorite drink: Iced churro latte (brown sugar, caramel, cinnamon).

SONY DSC

 

 

Have you ever been to Cure? Do you have a different favorite Hampton Roads coffee shop? Let me know in the comments!

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

